26th March 2014

Shoppers at Shrewsbury Market Hall are being asked to cast their vote to crown the first ever Market Trader of the Year.

People visiting the indoor market between April 1 and 30 can nominate their favourite trader to win a Mayor of Shrewsbury Award.

The trader with the most votes will be presented with a trophy at the Mayor’s Awards ceremony on May 7 2014.

Nomination forms will be available in the market and completed forms should be deposited in the post boxes provided.

Duplicate entries will not be counted.

The inaugural Market Trader of the Year award is one of two new categories being introduced this year by Mayor of Shrewsbury, Councillor Jon Tandy.

Nominations are also being sought for the Courtesy Award in association with the National Campaign for Courtesy which encourages good manners in the business world.

Members of the public can nominate a person or organisation they feel deserves recognition of their courtesy.

The two new awards are in addition to the existing six categories which include; the Built Heritage Award; Business Award; Community Award; Environmental Award; Youth Award and Tourism Award.

The Mayor will also present a number of special commendation awards to people he has met throughout the Mayoral year who have made a significant contribution to the town.

Mayor of Shrewsbury, Councillor Jon Tandy, said: “I have met so many wonderful people during my term of office as Mayor and these awards are an opportunity to give something back to all of the town’s unsung heroes.

“I have been so impressed with Shrewsbury Market Hall lately; the place has a real buzz to it and is bucking the national retail trend. Traders deserve recognition for what they do so we have introduced the new category to reflect this. The second new addition is the Courtesy Award which will be given in association with National Campaign for Courtesy – as the campaign states; courtesy costs nothing, but is incredibly potent.”

Full details and voting forms for all categories are available to download from with the exception of Market Trader of the Year which needs to be completed and submitted on site at the Market Hall.

All other completed nominations should be returned to the Mayor’s Secretary at or via post to: Shrewsbury Town Council, Guildhall, Frankwell Quay, Shrewsbury, SY3 8HR.

Back to all News Articles